MON, OCTOBER 26, 2026
Independent · In‑Depth · Practitioner‑Tested
✎ LLMs

OpenAI Gives You Six Months. Anthropic Gives You Sixty Days.

Every published retirement date for OpenAI and Anthropic models in one table, taken from both vendors' own deprecation pages. The next cliff is 30 November 2026, when Claude Sonnet 4.5 retires and OpenAI shuts down Agent Builder, the Evals dashboard and the v1/prompts API on the same day. Updated when either page changes.

By AIToolsRecap October 26, 2026 9 min read 13 views
Home › Articles › LLMs › AI Model Deprecation Tracker: Every Retirement ...

The two biggest model vendors publish retirement dates, and they do not publish them anywhere near each other. This page puts both tables in one place, taken from the vendors' own deprecation documentation rather than from news coverage, and is updated when either page changes.

WHAT TO KNOW FIRST

● OpenAI notice period: at least 6 months for generally available models, 3 months for specialised variants, as little as 2 weeks for preview models
● Anthropic notice period: at least 60 days for publicly released models
● Next cliff: 30 November 2026 - Claude Sonnet 4.5 retires and three OpenAI tools shut down the same day
● Already breaking: temperature, top_p and top_k return a 400 error on Anthropic API version 2026-10-21
● Biggest December date: 11 December 2026 - the entire GPT-5 family and o3 shut down

The notice gap is the thing to plan around

OpenAI commits to at least six months of notice before retiring a generally available model. Anthropic commits to at least sixty days. That is a threefold difference in migration runway, and it is the single most useful fact on this page if you are choosing where to build.

It cuts both ways. Anthropic publishes a tentative retirement date for every active model, often eighteen months out, so you can see the whole fleet's expected lifespan at a glance. OpenAI does not publish forward dates for models that have not been deprecated yet - you find out when the notice lands. Longer notice, less visibility.

OpenAI shutdown schedule

DateModel or endpointReplacementStatus
31 Oct 2026Evals (existing)Become read-onlyPast
30 Nov 2026v1/prompts API, reusable prompt objectsMove prompt content into application codeDue
30 Nov 2026Evals dashboard and APIPromptfoo migration path linkedDue
30 Nov 2026Agent BuilderAgents SDK or ChatGPT Workspace AgentsDue
1 Dec 2026gpt-image-1-mini, gpt-image-1.5, chatgpt-image-latestgpt-image-2.5-sunburst or -flareDue
11 Dec 2026gpt-5, gpt-5-2025-08-07gpt-5.6-solDue
11 Dec 2026gpt-5-minigpt-5.6-terraDue
11 Dec 2026gpt-5-nanogpt-5.6-lunaDue
11 Dec 2026gpt-5-progpt-5.6-sol (reasoning.mode: pro)Due
11 Dec 2026o3, o3-progpt-5.6-solDue
6 Jan 2027tts-1, tts-1-hd, gpt-4o-mini-ttsgpt-realtime-2.1-miniScheduled
6 Jan 2027Self-serve fine-tuning job creationNot statedScheduled
14 Jan 2027gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024-11-20, gpt-4o-minigpt-6-lunaScheduled
14 Jan 2027gpt-4.1, gpt-4.1-minigpt-6-lunaScheduled
20 Jan 2027gpt-realtime, gpt-audio and 4o variantsgpt-realtime-2.1 or gpt-audio-1.5Scheduled
26 Feb 2027whisper-1, gpt-4o-transcribe familygpt-live-transcribe or gpt-transcribeScheduled
26 Feb 2027/v1/audio/translationsv1/realtime/translationsScheduled
1 Apr 2027gpt-5.1, gpt-5.3-codexgpt-6-solScheduled
1 Apr 2027gpt-5.4-nanogpt-6-lunaScheduled

From OpenAI's own deprecations page, read 26 October 2026. Entries before 26 October are omitted except where they are still being discovered in production - the 23 October 2026 batch retired gpt-3.5-turbo, gpt-4, gpt-4-turbo, o1, o1-pro, o3-mini, o4-mini, gpt-image-1 and their fine-tunes.

Anthropic model status

Retirement dateAPI model stringReplacementState
30 Nov 2026claude-sonnet-4-5-20250929claude-sonnet-5-5Deprecated
Not before 24 Nov 2026claude-opus-4-5-20251101No replacement namedActive
Not before 15 Oct 2026claude-haiku-4-5-20251001No replacement namedActive
To be announcedclaude-mythos-previewNot statedDeprecated
Not before 5 Feb 2027claude-opus-4-6No replacement namedActive
Not before 17 Feb 2027claude-sonnet-4-6No replacement namedActive
Not before 16 Apr 2027claude-opus-4-7No replacement namedActive
Not before 28 May 2027claude-opus-4-8No replacement namedActive
Not before 9 Jun 2027claude-fable-5, claude-mythos-5No replacement namedActive
Not before 30 Jun 2027claude-sonnet-5No replacement namedActive
Not before 24 Jul 2027claude-opus-5No replacement namedActive
Not before 1 Sep 2027claude-fable-5-1, claude-mythos-5-1No replacement namedActive
Not before 22 Sep 2027claude-opus-5-5No replacement namedActive
Not before 28 Sep 2027claude-sonnet-5-5No replacement namedActive
Not before 7 Oct 2027claude-haiku-5-5No replacement namedActive

From Anthropic's own model deprecations page, read 26 October 2026. "Not before" dates are tentative and apply to Anthropic-operated platforms only - Amazon Bedrock and Google-managed Claude models set their own schedules and can differ.

The 30 November cliff

Four things stop working on the same day. Claude Sonnet 4.5 (claude-sonnet-4-5-20250929) retires from the Claude API, replaced by claude-sonnet-5-5. It was deprecated on 30 September, giving exactly the sixty days Anthropic commits to.

On the OpenAI side, Agent Builder, the Evals dashboard and API, and the v1/prompts API all shut down. The Evals API is the one that bites quietly: evaluation suites run in CI, so the failure surfaces as a red pipeline rather than a broken product, often weeks later. OpenAI links a Promptfoo migration path for it. For v1/prompts there is no replacement service - the guidance is to move prompt content into your application code.

The parameter change already returning errors

Separate from model retirement, and easy to miss: Anthropic removed temperature, top_p and top_k in API version 2026-10-21. On that version they return a 400 error. On earlier versions they still error when set to a non-default value on Claude 4.7 and later models. The recommended approach is to omit them and steer behaviour through prompting instead.

How to audit what you are actually calling

Anthropic provides a usage export that breaks calls down by API key and model: Claude Console, Usage, Export, then read the CSV. That is the fastest way to find a deprecated model string buried in a config file nobody has opened since it was written - which is where these usually hide.

Frequently asked questions

When does Claude Sonnet 4.5 stop working?

30 November 2026 on the Claude API. The model string is claude-sonnet-4-5-20250929 and the recommended replacement is claude-sonnet-5-5. Amazon Bedrock and Google-managed deployments set their own dates.

When is GPT-5 being shut down?

11 December 2026, along with gpt-5-mini, gpt-5-nano, gpt-5-pro, o3 and o3-pro. Replacements are gpt-5.6-sol, gpt-5.6-terra and gpt-5.6-luna depending on tier.

How much notice does OpenAI give before retiring a model?

At least six months for generally available models, at least three months for specialised variants such as chat, Codex and deep research, and as little as two weeks for preview models. Safety or compliance issues can force faster retirement.

How much notice does Anthropic give?

At least sixty days for publicly released models, with email notification to customers running active deployments. Anthropic also publishes a tentative retirement date for every active model.

Why am I getting a 400 error on temperature?

Anthropic removed temperature, top_p and top_k in API version 2026-10-21. They now return a 400 error on that version. Omit them and guide behaviour through prompting.

What happens if I call a retired model?

The request fails. Anthropic states plainly that requests to retired models fail; OpenAI shuts the endpoint down. Neither silently falls back to a newer model.

When is GPT-4o being retired?

14 January 2027 for gpt-4o-2024-08-06, gpt-4o-2024-11-20 and gpt-4o-mini-2024-07-18, replaced by gpt-6-luna. The older gpt-4o-2024-05-13 snapshot went on 23 October 2026.

Sources

OpenAI dates and notice policy from OpenAI Deprecations. Anthropic dates, lifecycle states and the parameter removal from Anthropic Model deprecations. Both read 26 October 2026. See also our AI API pricing tracker.

Last updated 26 October 2026. Dates and prices change - verify against the vendor before acting.

Tags
AI NewsGenerative AIAnthropicOpenAIGoogle2026
⚑

Spot an inaccuracy?

We verify facts before publishing and correct errors promptly. If something in this article is wrong or outdated, let us know.

Report an error →