Verdict first
● Both — read-only bank access through Plaid, no money movement
● ChatGPT — shipped May, wider reach, shows ads
● Claude — shipped November, US only, states no ads
● Neither — is investment advice, and both say so
The mechanics here are nearly identical, which is unusual and makes the comparison simpler than most. Both link accounts through Plaid rather than taking credentials, both are read-only, and both disclaim investment advice. So the decision rests on availability, data handling, and one structural difference that matters more in personal finance than anywhere else.
Side by side
|
Claude Personal Finance |
ChatGPT |
| Launched |
November 2026 |
May 2026 |
| Connection |
Plaid |
Plaid |
| Access |
Read-only |
Read-only |
| Plans |
Pro, Max, Ultra |
Launched on the $200/mo Pro tier |
| Region |
US only, in beta |
not stated here |
| Linked accounts |
Up to 16 US banks |
not stated here |
| History |
Up to 2 years of transactions |
not stated here |
| Training on finance chats |
Excluded |
not stated here |
| Advertising in product |
None, per Anthropic |
Ads have begun appearing |
Several cells say not stated here, and that is deliberate: those figures were not in the coverage we verified, and guessing them would defeat the purpose of a comparison. If you need the ChatGPT numbers exactly, check OpenAI's own documentation rather than any table, including this one.
What they both do
Link your accounts, then ask questions in plain language. Claude can explain monthly spending, flag duplicate charges and fees, and build charts and dashboards from balances and up to two years of transactions. On investment, loan and card accounts it reads only balances and credit limits. Neither product can move, manage or invest money, which is a design choice rather than a missing feature — a read-only integration has a much smaller blast radius when it misunderstands something.
The difference that matters
Anthropic states there are no ads or sponsored recommendations, and that it offers no credit cards, loans or savings accounts. OpenAI has begun showing ads in ChatGPT.
In most product categories that is a minor preference. In personal finance it is the whole question. A system that has read two years of your transactions knows your income, your debts, your subscriptions and your spending weaknesses, and the same system recommending a product is a different proposition depending on whether anyone paid for the placement. This is not a prediction that OpenAI will do that; it is an observation that one of the two companies has structurally removed the possibility and the other has not.
What neither will tell you
Both disclaim investment advice, and both are right to. Treat these as tools for understanding what already happened to your money rather than for deciding what to do next, and be aware that an AI reading a transaction feed can misclassify a merchant as easily as your banking app can.
One practical detail specific to Claude: figures that end up in chats, artifacts or shared links persist until you delete them, even after you unlink the bank. Unlinking stops new reads but does not retract what is already written into a conversation. If you share an artifact containing your balances, treat it like any other document containing your balances.
Which to pick
If you already pay for one of them, use that one; neither feature is worth a second subscription. If you are choosing fresh and you are in the US, Claude's stated no-ads position and training exclusion are the clearer commitments in a category where that is the main risk. If you are outside the US, Claude's beta does not reach you yet and the choice makes itself.
Frequently asked questions
Can either one move my money?
No. Both are read-only. Claude cannot move, manage or invest funds, and on investment, loan and card accounts it reads only balances and credit limits.
Does Claude see my banking password?
No. The connection runs through Plaid, which handles authentication, so the password is never exposed to Claude.
Is my financial data used for training?
Anthropic says hub chats are not used for training and are kept out of Claude's shared memory. Check OpenAI's current documentation for ChatGPT, as the policy there is not something we verified for this comparison.
What happens when I unlink my bank?
New reads stop. Figures already present in chats, artifacts or shared links remain until you delete them, so unlinking is not the same as erasing.
How many accounts can I connect to Claude?
Up to 16 US banks during the beta.
Background: Claude Personal Finance.
Sources